PDP Claims 3 Senatorial, 7 Reps seats in C’River


The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won three senatorial seats in Cross River State, with two terms Senators, Gershom Bassey and Rose Oko retaining their seats while lecturer-cum politician Dr Sandy Onor, also defeated former Senate Leader, Sen Victor Ndoma, amidst controversy.

In the Southern Senatorial district, Senator Gershom Bassey of PDP defeated Sen Bassey Otu of the All Progressives Congress, APC for the second time to retain the senatorial seat. INEC said he scored a total of 158, 862 votes to defeat his closest rival, Prince Otu of the APC who polled a total of 142,166 votes in the seven local government areas that form the district.

The result of the central senatorial was under severe contention since Monday as Ndoma Egba’s group insisted that since elections in Etung local government area, seen as the stronghold of the former senate leader, was cancelled by INEC over alleged electoral infraction, there should be a rerun.

But INEC Returning Officer for the election in the area, Prof Eyong Uban, declared Onor, who polled a total 80,126 to Ndoma Egba’s 60,298 votes, a winner.

In the northern senatorial district, Senator Rose Oko, also of the PDP, defeated Wabily Nyiam of the APC with 100,967. Nyiam could manage only 36,129 votes.

Hon. Jarigbe Agom of PDP and member representing Ogoja/Yala Constituency in the House of Representatives retained his seat after defeating his major opponent, Jude Ngaji. He polled 35, 006 while Ngaji had 15, 100.

For Calabar South, Akpabuyo and Bakassi federal constituency, Essien Ayi of PDP defeats Dominic AquaAccording to result announced by the Returning Officer, Prof Ojua Takim, Ayi defeated Dominic Aqua with a total vote of 25, 707 while his APC opponent  had 18, 946 vote.

For Obudu/Bekwarra/Obanliku Federal Constituency, Hon. Legor Idagbo of PDP was elected with 27, 547 votes while his opponent, Koko Dan of the APC scored 5, 414.

The only APC candidate who scaled the political hurdles to emerge victorious was Dr Alex Egbona who defeated the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon John Gaul Lebo for Abi/Yakurr federal constituency. Whereas Egbona polled 29,432 , Lebo had 26,971 votes.

Besides, results from other federal constituencies were still being expected as at press time but feelers indicated that Daniel Asuquo, Eta Mbora,  Chris Agibe, Mike Etaba, all of PDP also won. The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, was yet to make formal declaration when this reports went to press.

Meanwhile, total votes realized by the two political parties in last Saturday presidential elections as announced by INEC indicated that whereas the PDP candidate, Atiku Abubakar, got 295,737 votes, his opponent, Muhammadu Buhari, polled 117,302.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here